Day At The Track

The Raceway announces award winners

12:14 PM 07 Jan 2020 NZDT
Comment (...) Tweet Share Email Print
The Raceway.jpg

LONDON, ON - The Raceway at Western Fair District will hold its annual harness racing awards night on Saturday, February 22 at the Carousel Room at The Raceway.

The Raceway's top performers for 2019 will be honoured in a variety of categories. Awards for the three-year-olds and older horses are based on the top money earners who made a minimum of six starts at The Raceway in 2019. The claiming awards are based on the most number of claiming wins at The Raceway in 2019.

The Owner of the Year award, sponsored by Standardbred Canada, goes to the top money-winning owner who was within the top five highest number of starts during the season.

Driver Marc St Louis captured his first driving title at Western Fair thanks to an outstanding season in 2019, which included 143 wins. The Michigan native was also crowned Canada's leading dash winner with 340 wins.

St Louis' wife, Danielle, was also crowned her first trainers title at The Raceway. The young conditioner finished off 2019 with 61 wins, 23 more than her nearest rivals Ron MacDonald and Patrick Shepherd.

The Raceway will also once again honour its Caretaker of the Year award. To qualify, caretakers must be nominated by Friday, January 31. To nominate someone, participants with a valid AGCO licence can send an email with your nomination to

The Raceway will also honour its overall Horse of the Year the night of the event.

The fun-filled night, which includes a cocktail reception, dinner, awards and dancing, will commence at 6 p.m. Tickets are $40 per person or $280 for a table of eight and can be purchased through Marketing/Promotions Amy O'Toole at 519-438-7203 (ext. 380) or in the Race Office.

Tickets will go on sale beginning on January 13 until Wednesday February 19. Anyone interested in attending should note that tickets for this year's event will not be sold at the door so are urged to purchase before the deadline.

The 2019 award winners are as follows:

Older Pacing Horse - Blue Moose

Older Pacing Mare - Woodmere Wyldstyle

Three-Year-Old Pacing Colt - Arnoldthepaperboy

Three-Year-Old Pacing Filly - Sporty Tori

Older Trotting Horse - Nebraska Jack

Older Trotting Mare - Impressively Done

Three-Year-Old Trotting Colt - Raising Royalty

Three-Year-Old Trotting Filly - Victoriahasasecret

Claiming Pacer - Hopetobefirst

Claiming Trotter - Spicey Victor

Owner of the Year - Jack Wray

Trainer of the Year - Danielle St Louis

Driver of the Year - Marc St Louis

Wall Tyme Outstanding Service Award - To Be Announced

Caretaker of the Year - To Be Announced

Horse of the Year - To Be Announced

Ruth Herbert Horsewoman of the year Award - To Be Announced

Racing Under Saddle Outstanding Achievement - To Be Announced

by Greg Gangle, for The Raceway

Comment (...) Tweet Share Email Print

Read More News About...

Stallion Name

Next article in Canada: