Day At The Track

Bankstown Paceway goes the full monte

11:44 AM 24 Sep 2013 NZST
Comment (...) Tweet Share Email Print
Robbie Morris at Bankstown Paceway.jpg
Robbie Morris at Bankstown Paceway

‘Sydney’s Bankstown Paceway is delighted to be the only harness racing club in New South Wales to take part in the first Australian national saddle racing competition, Aldebaran Park Monté Series, which will run from October 2013 to June 2014,’ Bankstown Paceway director Andrew Ho has told Harnesslink.

‘Bankstown Paceway will stage our next saddle race for trotting horses in conjunction with the 30th Anniversary Group 1 M. H. Treuer Memorial on Saturday, December 7th, 2013,’ Mr Ho said.

‘As the New South Wales home of le trot monte racing, Bankstown Paceway is justifiably proud of our record as the harness racing industry innovator who successfully returned monte racing to our state on Saturday, December 1st, last year, and hosted the southern hemisphere’s very first international trotting saddle race on Friday, May 31st, this year, which featured riders from Australia and Sweden,’ Mr Ho added.

According to Harness Racing Victoria, the rise of Monté racing in Australia is set to explode with the major announcement of the Aldebaran Park Monté Series.

A schedule of races has been developed in recent months which will include not only Victoria, but also New South Wales and South Australia.

A popular discipline in Europe and Scandinavia, ridden trot races require great skill from both the horse and rider and are a great spectacle to observe.

The series will kick off on October 12 at Geelong and continue right through until June 21 at Kilmore with a number of the races being run as heats into finals on some of the major carnival nights.

Thanks to the support of Aldebaran Park, the rider who accumulates the most points over the 22 race series (based on a 4-2-1 format) will receive a return airfare to participate in Scandinavia with the help of Aldebaran Park and Harness Racing Victoria.

Each of the races will be classed for the T0 or better squaregaiters with a minimum riding weight of 65kg (all inclusive) to be adhered to. The races will include a mix of conditions and start types.

With turnover figures already suggesting punters are right behind the Monté style of trotting, the addition of three races at Globe Derby and one at Bankstown will garner greater interest outside of just Victoria.

The exciting concept will allow Australian trotting to take the next step in becoming a truly international product.

The entire race schedule appears below:

Saturday 12 October 2013

 

Geelong, Victoria

     

Sunday 27 October 2013

 

Kilmore, Victoria

     

Friday 15 November 2013

 

Bendigo, Victoria

     

Saturday 23 November 2013

 

Globe Derby, South Australia

     

Friday 29 November 2013

 

Ballarat, Victoria

     

Saturday 7 December 2013

 

Sydney’s Bankstown Paceway, New South Wales

     

Saturday 14 December 2013

 

Tabcorp Park Melton, Victoria

     

Wednesday 1 January 2014

 

Echuca, Victoria

     

Saturday 4 January 2014

 

Globe Derby, South Australia

     

Saturday 11 January 2014

 

Bendigo, Victoria

     

Saturday 25 January 2014

 

Ballarat, Victoria

     

Saturday 8 February 2014

 

Tabcorp Park Melton

     

Wednesday 26 February 2014

 

Maryborough, Victoria

     

Friday 14 March 2014

 

Shepparton, Victoria

     

Saturday 22 March 2014

 

Tabcorp Park Melton, Victoria

     

Monday 7 April 2014

 

Maryborough, Victoria

     

Tuesday 22 April 2014

 

Geelong, Victoria

     

Saturday 3 May 2014

 

Shepparton, Victoria

     

Saturday 10 May 2014

 

Globe Derby, South Australia

     

Saturday 24 May 2014

 

Kilmore, Victoria

     

Saturday 7 June 2014

 

Bendigo, Victoria

     

Saturday 21 June 2014

 

Kilmore, Victoria

 

Comment (...) Tweet Share Email Print

Read More News About...

Stallion Name

Next article: