Day At The Track

Ameretto Sun to go one better

08:45 AM 01 Oct 2017 NZDT
Comment (...) Tweet Share Email Print
Motukarara,Harness racing

Ameretto Sun somewhat of a grass and track specialist, could improve on his second in the Ordeal Trotting Cup at Addington. 

Harness racing trainer Ken Ford has him primed to go close to winning todays Alabar DG Jones Banks Peninsular Trotting Cup at Motukarara Raceway.

Ford has a good record in the race, winning it twice, with Midnight Invasion (2008) and Zachary Binz (2015).

Zachary Binz who won on a bog track two years in the slowest time in the race history, is back again this year and will again be driven by Amanda Tomlinson, while Ameretto Sun will be driven by Sheree Tomlinson.

Sheree Tomlinson and Ameretto Sun

Destiny Jones who won the Ordeal Trotting Cup two weeks ago, will also be hard to beat in todays race. His grass track record is also solid with one win and three placings from six starts.

Destiny Jones will be driven by Ricky May who won this race last year with Harrysul. 

Master trainer of trotters Paul Nairn, has the race favourite Habibty Ivy in todays race. 

Habibty Ivy blew the start of the Ordeal Trotting Cup and was pulled up by driver Blair Orange, but she does have a tidy grass track record and the punters have made her a hot favourite today on the FF win market at $1.70.

Other good chances in the race are Belles Son, Arya and Pegusus Dream.

The big mover on the FF win market today is Gore Bay in race five. TAB bookmaker Steve Richardson said  "they have really come for the Nigel McGrath first starter Gore Bay".

"We opened him at $19.00 and the money came straight away, with some solid bets right down to his current price of $6.50."

Trainer Nigel McGrath has a good record with three year old first starters on the track.

The Motukarara track today is rated as "Dead" with overcast conditions.

Banks Peninsular Trotting Cup History

Year  Month   Distance Horse Hcap Owner   Driver Time
  2016  Oct   2810m Harrysul 10m K R Gardner, R J Shaw   Ricky May 3-41.4
  2015  Sep   2810m Zachary Binx Fr K B Ford, Mrs A J Tomlinson   Amanda Tomlinson 4-09.1
  2014  Sep   2810m Clover Don 10m G K Stevenson, Mrs J A Stevenson   Robbie Holmes 3-40.7
  2013  Sep   2810m Jaccka Justy Fr C F Smaill, Mrs A G Smaill   Jonny Cox 3-54.7
  2012  Sep   2810m I Can Doosit 25m Breckon Racing Syndicate   Mark Purdon 3-42.4
  2011  Oct   2810m Vulcan Fr Mrs J A Butt, D J McKenzie   Anthony Butt 3-37.5
  2010  Oct   2810m Springbank Richard 20m R A Smith, Mrs D J Smith   Nathan Williamson 3-36.0
  2009  Oct   2810m Springbank Richard 10m R A Smith, Mrs D J Smith   Nathan Williamson 3-45.4
  2008  Oct   2810m Midnight Invasion Fr K B Ford, Mrs A J Tomlinson   Blair Orange 3-48.9
  2007  Oct   2810m Power In Motion Fr F E Wall   Ricky May 3-51.1
  2006  Oct   2785m Play On 10m P R Lamb   Craig Thornley 3-48.9


Harnesslink Media


Comment (...) Tweet Share Email Print

Read More News About...

Stallion Name

Next article: