Day At The Track

Australians win trans-Tasman Drivers' Championship

09:00 AM 28 Nov 2016 NZDT
Comment (...) Tweet Share Email Print
Winning drivers.jpg
Lisa Miles, Lance Justice, David Murphy and John Caldow

Harness racing legend Lance Justice led his Australian team to victory in yesterdays American Ideal Trans Tasman Drivers Challenge at invercargill.

The competition pits teams of reinsmen from Australia, the North Island and South Island against each other in five heats with an individual and teams title up for grabs. In the previous two years the North Island had been victorious but after a strong start by the South Island in this year's competition the Australians hit the front when they scored the trifecta in the second heat and were never headed.

Justice led the way with a tally of 25 points to take the Individual Trophy.

He was ably backed up by John Caldow on 20 points with Lisa Miles and David Murphy adding a further ten points to amass a total of 55 points to record Australia's first win in the Challenge.

Zac Butcher equalled Caldow's 20 points to be the equal second highest point scorer on the day but his North Island team mates, Joshua Dickie, Scott Phelan and David Butcher could only muster a further 9 points between them to finish last of the three teams.

The South Islanders were very consistent with Nathan Williamson gathering 14 points, Ricky May and Blair Orange 12 each and Clark Barron 8 to finish runners-up on 46 points. 


Harnesslink Media
Courtesy of Bruce Stewart

Comment (...) Tweet Share Email Print

Read More News About...

Stallion Name

Next article: