Day At The Track

Unbeaten Bee A Magician strolls to Crown victory

02:41 PM 20 Oct 2013 NZDT
Comment (...) Tweet Share Email Print
Bee A Magician, harness racing
Unbeaten Bee A Magician scores her 14th straight victory

WILKES-BARRE PA -- Bee A Magician ($2.20) extended her unbeaten 2013 campaign to fifteen straight victories and put on display her credentials for Harness Horse of the Year Saturday night at Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs with an effortless victory in the $500,000 three-year-old filly trot Breeders Crown championship, her 1:52.4 winning time the fastest Crown triumph in her division ever despite sloppy going.

Driver Brian Sears let his rivals battle to a 27 first quarter, with Frau Blucher and Ma Chere Hall taking the 1-2 early spots, before moving Bee A Magician to the lead well before the 55.2 half split (Ma Chere Hall eliminated herself at this point with a break). The daughter of Kadabra needed only the magic of her athletic superiority to be in control from there, with a clocking of 1:24 with a quarter-mile left to go preceding a powerful, drawing-away triumph in the record time. White Birch Farm is the breeder of the newly-minted $2,000,000 winner, with the beneficiaries of this largesse being owners Melvin Hartman, Herb Liverman, and David McDuffee.

Frau Blucher could not stay with the champion winner through the lane, but held the place, 4 1/2 lengths behind and 1 1/2 lengths ahead of Southwind Cocoa, who shot the passing lane for the last board spot; Thistle Dhu and Coffecake Hanover were next in line at the wire.

Sears, who has won a Crown event for 11 consecutive years, the longest active streak, says, "She gets over the ground so easily -- 55.2 was a little bit faster to the half than I might have liked, but you'd hardly know she's going that fast, she covers ground so effortlessly."

Trainer "Nifty" Norman gave out a bit of interesting news when he said that Bee A Magician was being pointed to face older mares in the Moni Maker Trot at The Meadowlands on November 30. "She's a fantastic horse," Norman enthused. "The best thing about her is her attitude -- she just wants to win more than the other horses."

FINISHING LINES -- Sears won the evening's ninth Crown event; four drivers -- Yannick Gingras, Tim Tetrick, Ron Pierce, and David Miller -- each had two wins before Sears.

Video attached

by Jerry Connors for

Comment (...) Tweet Share Email Print

Read More News About...

Stallion Name

Next article: