Day At The Track

$100,000 Breckon Farms Young Guns Final

11:17 PM 07 Mar 2014 NZDT
Comment (...) Tweet Share Email Print
Follow The Stars
Follow The Stars seen here winning the Sapling Stakes
Follow The Stars

Follow The Stars makes it three straight in Cardigan Bay Stakes

Mark Purdon won his eighth Cardigan Bay Stakes in 14 years when favourite Follow The Stars cleaned up in tonight's 2014 edition of the The Group One $100,000 Breckon Farms Young Guns Final at Alexandra Park.

Starting from the outside of the front row, Follow The Stars was fortunate to avoid the breakers inside him therefore leaving Purdon no option to avoid the breakers and patiently wait for Jonny B Good and Todd Mitchell to drag him into the race.

When Jonny B Good was started to fade Purdon pounced with the $2.10 shot and zoomed to the front at the 500m. From that point it was a matter of catch me if you can. They couldn't.

The Art Major colt won easily by 3-1/2 lengths and 1-1/4 lengths in 2:02.92 (mile rate: 1:56.3) with final 800m sprints of 58.3 and 28.6. Express Stride (Tony Herlihy - MNZM) was second, with Bettor Sprits (Philip Butcher) third.

Purdon also co-trains Follow The Stars with his partner Natalie Rasmussen.

"He's a nice colt and had to be good to win from the outside of the front line. I like him a lot. We will head to Australia with him now for the APG Series in Melbourne in April," Purdon said.

It was Follow The Star's third consecutive win since making his winning debut at Alexandra Park on December 13. He also won the $25,000 Group Three Sapling Stakes at Ashburton on February 14.

Follow The Stars is owned by Mrs G. J. Kennard, P. I Kennard, N. Pilcher, G. R. Douglas, P. J. Creighton, and Mrs M. C Creighton. He was bred by Lauriston Bloodstock.

The bay colt has now won $81,477

Past winners (and times) of the Group One Cardigan Bay Stakes Young Guns Final for 2yo colts & geldings have been:

2013: Cyclone Prince (Todd Mitchell) 2:04.6;

2012: Five Card Draw (Brent Mangos) 2:02.5;

2011: Fly Like An Eagle (Mark Purdon) 2:02.5;

2010: Major Mark (Mark Purdon) 2:04.1;

2009: Anvils Best Ever (Anthony Butt) 2:05.6;

2008: Gotta Go Cullect (Jay Abernethy) 2:03.7;

2007: Steve McQueen (Mark Purdon) 2:06.1;

2006: Gotta Go Cullen (Nicole Molander) 2:05.0.

by Duane Ranger


Comment (...) Tweet Share Email Print

Read More News About...

Stallion Name

Next article: