Day At The Track

Contenders found for Junior Drivers Champs

01:16 AM 03 Jul 2012 NZST
Comment (...) Tweet Share Email Print
Zac Butcher Phil and Matthew Williamson
Zac Butcher - Pictured in the Barry Purdon colours.
Duane Ranger photo
Phil and Matthew Williamson - proud Oamaruvians!

The qualifying is over for this year's New Zealand Junior Driving Championship to be held at harness racing headquarters - Addington Raceway in Christchurch - later this month.

The championship, to be known as the Speckos NZ Junior Driver Championship (thanks to harness racing loyalist and sponsor Ivan McNicholl), will bring together 12 of the nation's best young drivers in a fight for supremacy.

The 12 competing in the championship are as follows:

North Island - Zac Butcher, Josh Dickie, Kyle Marshall, Simon McMullan, David Branch, Simon Lawson.

South Island - Matthew Williamson, Adam Sanderson, Jack Trainor, Robbie Close, Mitchell Kerr, Tim Williams.

As the highest point scorers, Zac Butcher and Matthew Williamson, will captain their respective islands in the Inter-Island Challenge, a competition dominated by the North Island in its two editions to date.

Tim Williams, last year's winner who snuck into the championship late in qualifying will be attending his last Junior Drivers' Championship as he will be in the ranks of senior drivers next season.

On the flip side, first-season drivers Jack Trainor and Kyle Marshall have made the championship, a good achievement for two fledgling drivers.

The championship will be run over three races at Addington on July 20.

There is provision however for a fourth with a reserve race being programmed as a championship race also.

by Andrew MORRIS

Comment (...) Tweet Share Email Print

Read More News About...

Stallion Name

Next article: