Day At The Track

Draw concluded for Yonkers Trot Saturday

12:59 AM 24 Jul 2013 NZST
Comment (...) Tweet Share Email Print
Creampuff Macdaddy, harness racing Don'tyouforgetit, harness racing
Creampuff Macdaddy drew post 6 for Yonkers Trot final
Photo by Mike Lizzi
Yonkers Trot elim winner Don'tyouforgetit drew post 4 in final
Photo by Mike Lizzi

YONKERS, NY, Tuesday, July 23, 2013--Elimination winners Don'tyouforgetit and Creampuff Macdaddy drew post positions Nos. 4 and 6, respectively, for Yonkers Raceway's 59th Yonkers Trot.

The $450,000 first leg of Trotting's Triple Crown goes as Saturday night's seventh race, with post time at approximately 9:20 PM. Eight 3-year-olds--seven colts and one gelding--earned their berths after last week's pair of eliminations. First post for the baker's dozen buffet is the usual 7:10 PM.

Don'tyouforgetit, a Cantab Hall colt, held off Fico by nose (1:57.2) in the second elim. He looks to give Jimmy Takter a fourth Trot training win in the last five editions.

For the season, Don'tyouforgetit has four wins, a second and pair of thirds in seven tries ($195,732) and his $533,569 career bankroll (10-for-17 lifetime) makes him by far the wealthiest of the octet. Takter, who drove the Solveig's Racing Partners homebred last week, has enlisted Brian Sears for the final.

Creampuff Macdaddy made a successful out-of-Ontario debut last week, winning the first elimination in a sharp 1:56.3. The son of Ken Warkentin whipped Dewycolorintheline by a length-and-a-half.

Brad Maxwell trains for co-owners Howard Taylor, Ted Gewertz, Edwin Gold and Judith Taylor. The Trot elim was his first "official" win in three seasonal starts (one north of the border disqualification is under appeal). "Creampuff," a provincial standout at 2, has baked in excess of $302,000 in his career.

Jason Bartlett, as of this writing, is double-listed behind Creampuff Macdaddy and pole-sitting Fico.

The draw for Yonkers Trot 59, with declared drivers (please note driver changes and morning line shall be added Wednesday)

1-Fico (Jason Bartlett)
2-Dewycolorintheline (Ray Schnittker)
3-Celebrity Stimulus (Tom Jackson)
4-Don'tyouforgetit (Brian Sears)
5-Boffin (Charlie Norris)
6-Creampuff Macdaddy (Bartlett also listed)
7-Lauderdale (George Brennan)
8-Cantab Abs (Trond Smedshammer)
Lauderdale is the lone gelding, while Denver and Explosive Action are the two also-eligibles, in that order.

by Frank Drucker

(photos-Mike Lizzi-accompany)


Comment (...) Tweet Share Email Print

Read More News About...

Stallion Name

Next article: