Day At The Track

Dan Patch Awards Banquet 2014 tickets available

06:52 AM 03 Jan 2014 NZDT
Comment (...) Tweet Share Email Print
Monticello, NY - The much anticipated winner of the E. Roland Harriman Harness Horse of the Year trophy will be announced live on Sunday, February 23, 2014 at Dover Downs, Dover Delaware. Tickets for this gala event, the Dan Patch Awards Banquet Night of Champions, are now available.

In addition to equine divisional honors, a host of the industry's biggest and brightest will be feted at the annual awards ceremony, including this year's inductees to the Harness Racing Hall of Fame, David Miller and Bill Weaver; and Communicators Hall of Fame, Carol Cramer and John Pawlak.

The U. S. Harness Writers list of human awards also includes the Stan Bergstein Proximity Award winner, Joe Thomson, as well as the Owner, Trainer, Driver, and Breeder of the Year, Rising Star, Breakthrough, Good Guy and a host of others, which are listed below and available on the website.

Adding to the festivities will be the popular souvenir red carpet photo shoot during the cocktail hour followed by a main course dinner of lobster surf and turf.

Tickets for the Dan Patch Awards Banquet can be reserved via telephone or Email by contacting Judy Davis-Wilson (302.359.3630), or Scott Warren (302.222.1222),

Substantial savings on hotel rooms can be attained for this event, which is being held at the Dover Downs Hotel and Casino, on US Rte. 13 (DuPont Hwy.) in Dover, Delaware. A special rate of $149 can be reserved by calling 866.473.7378 BEFORE January 22, 2014, and mentioning code: GHWA.

The deadline for the Dan Patch Awards journal is Monday, January 27. To advertise in the souvenir journal, please contact Chris Tully by calling 845.807.7538 or Email:

All of this information and applicable advertising forms can be accessed via internet link:

Dan Patch Horse Awards - 2013 Champions and Finalists*

2-Year-Old Trotting filly: Shake It Cerry

2-Year-Old Pacing Filly: Precocious Beauty

2-Year-Old Trotting Colt: Father Patrick

2-Year-Old Pacing Colts* -- He's Watching, Luck Be With You

3-Year-Old Trotting Colts* -- Royalty For Life, Spider Blue Chip

3-Year-Old Trotting Filly: Bee A Magician

3-Year-Old Pacing Filly: I Luv The Nitelife

3-Year-Old Pacing Colt: Captaintreacherous

Trotting Mare: Maven

Trotting Horse: Market Share

Pacing Mares* -- Anndrovette, Rocklamation

Pacing Horse: Foiled Again

*Finalists, *Trotter of the Year, *Pacer of the Year, and the E. Roland Harriman Harness Horse of the Year* to be announced live Sunday, Feb. 23, 2014


United States Harness Writers Association - Awards and Honorees

Harness Racing Hall of Fame: David Miller & William Weaver

Communicators Hall of Fame: Carol Cramer & John Pawlak

Stan Bergstein-Proximity Award: Joe Thomson

Norman Woolworth Owner: Burke Racing & Weaver Bruscemi

Glen Garnsey Trainer of the Year: Ron Burke

Driver of the Year: Tim Tetrick

Breeder of the Year: White Birch Farm

Lew Barasch Breakthrough: Heather Wilder

Rising Star: Corey Callahan

President's Award: Mary Lou Dondarski

W. R. Haughton Good Guy: George Ducharme

USHWAn of the Year: Judy Davis-Wilson

Unsung Hero: Sam Landy & Open Space

Amateur Driver of the Year: Steve Oldford

Trotting Broodmare of the Year: Beehive

Pacing Broodmare of the Year: Worldly Treasure

January Davies Humanitarian Award: Donna Marshall

HHYF Service to Youth Award: Janet Stevenson Davis

Grand Circuit Awards:

Owner, Burke Racing; Trainer, Ron Burke; Driver, Yannick Gingras

USTA & USHWA Railbird Recognition Awards TBA

Hervey & Smallsreed Awards TBA

by Chris Tully for United States Harness Writers Association 


Comment (...) Tweet Share Email Print

Read More News About...

Stallion Name

Next article: