Day At The Track

Doubleshotofscotch wins horse of the year

04:25 AM 03 May 2019 NZST
Comment (...) Tweet Share Email Print
Inverness Raceway
Harness Racing at the Inverness Raceway

INVERNESS, N.S. — The Inverness Raceway held its annual awards banquet last Friday in Inverness, handing out the Cape Breton track’s prestigious harness racing awards from the 2018 race season.

Doubleshotofscotch was named the horse of the year, while mare of the year was given to Modern Best and Makes Me Stupid and Bonny Mac were chosen for the iron horse award.

Tipperback Jack was the most improved horse for 2018, while Intended Royalty took home the fastest mile for a local horse award. Claimer of the year was Shanghai BG.

Red Doucet Jr., who also had the most drives during the year, took home the top driver over the age of 50 with 44 wins, followed by Rodney Gillis with 28 wins and Ryan Campbell with 24 victories. The top trainer over 50 was John MacDonald with 13 wins, followed closely by Lennan MacIsaac with 12 wins and DF Beaton and Wendall Harper with 11 wins each.

Shawn MacDonald and Lanny Hanscombe were the top drivers in the 20-49 category while Alex Sutherland Jr. was the top trainer in the division.

Ambrose Gillis was chosen as the rookie driver of the year while Matt Hinkley and Zack Mullins were selected as the rookie trainers of the year.

The Gerard Kennedy Financial Award was presented to Mary MacQuarrie, while the Raymond (Slim) Gillis Award was given to Barry Watson. Meanwhile, the Standardbred Canada award went to John MacDonald. Dylan MacLean was the junior groom of the year.

The volunteer of the year was awarded to Ed Copley, while the fan of the year was given to Jamie Campbell.

The 2019 harness racing season will begin at Inverness Raceway on June 2.

Full list of 2018 annual award winners:

  • Horse of the Year: Doubleshotofscotch
  • Mare of the Year: Modern Best
  • Fastest Mile For Local Horse: Intended Royalty
  • Iron Horse: Makes Me Stupid and Bonny Mac
  • Mode of Consistency: Res Aiden
  • Most Improved: Tipperback Jack
  • Claimer of the Year: Shanghai BG
  • Three-year-old Filly: This Old Millie
  • Three-year-old Colt: Windmeredontmatter and Blackriver Ripper
  • Two-year-old Filly: Miss Dynamite D
  • Two-year-old Colt: TQs Charlie
  • Top Trainer (50-plus): .466 with 13 wins John MacDonald, 12 wins Lennan MacIsaac, 11 wins DF Beaton and Wendall Harper,
  • Top Trainer (20-49): .485 Alex Sutherland Jr.
  • Top Driver (50-plus): .466 with 44 wins Red Doucet Jr., Rodney Gillis (28 wins), and Ryan Campbell (24)
  • Top Drivers (20-49): .455 Shawn MacDonald and Lanny Hanscombe with six wins, Sandy MacNeil, Alex MacDonald, Joey Poirier with five wins, and Charles Fraser and Ambrose Gillis with four wins
  • Most Drives: Red Doucet Jr.
  • Rookie Driver: Ambrose Gillis
  • Rookie Trainers: Matt Hinkley and Zack Mullins
  • Junior Groom: Dylan MacLean
  • Gerard Kennedy Financial Award: Mary MacQuarrie
  • Fan of the Year: Jamie Campbell
  • Standardbred Canada Award: John MacDonald
  • Raymond (Slim) Gillis Award: Barry Watson
  • Volunteer of the Year: Ed Copley
  • Recognition Award: Malcolm MacEachern, DF Beaton and Charles Fraser
  • Appreciation Award: Bernie MacDonald, Kevin Deagle and Richie Mullins

Reprinted with permission of The Cape Breton Post

Comment (...) Tweet Share Email Print

Read More News About...

Stallion Name

Next article: