Day At The Track

Dozen found for NZ Juniors Championship

04:49 AM 12 Jun 2013 NZST
Comment (...) Tweet Share Email Print
Matthew Williamson
Matthew Williamson - Pictured here after driving his 100th winner for the season

The six drivers from each island to compete in the NZ Junior Driver Champs at Addington on July 4 have been found. The below 12 qualifying drivers will compete in three, possibly four championship heats (as a Reserve Race has been programmed) at Addington on Thursday July 4.

Previous winner Zac Butcher heads the list, with the South Island's dominant junior driver of late Sam Ottley and 100-club driver Matty Williamson also in the right sort of form to become national champions.This New Zealand championship will also be the last that many of this crop of drivers will enjoy.

Drivers such as Zac Butcher, Josh Dickie, Simon Lawson, Roydon Downey, Matty Williamson and Mitchell Kerr are in their final term as junior drivers and their moving on to open ranks will leave a hole in the short term.

North Island Rank Driver Points

1 Zac Butcher 46

2 Joshua Dickie 36

3 Simon Lawson 28

4 Andrew Veint 25

5 Roydon Downey 17

6 Andre Poutama 11

South Island Rank Driver Points

1 Samantha Ottley 72

2 Matty Williamson 63

3 Brad Williamson 55

4 Jack Trainor 44

5 Rory McIlwrick 40

6 Mitchell Kerr 37

Courtesy of Harness Racing New Zealand

Comment (...) Tweet Share Email Print

Read More News About...

Stallion Name

Next article: