Day At The Track

Florida USHWA Hall of Fame banquet tonight

02:29 AM 08 Mar 2014 NZDT
Comment (...) Tweet Share Email Print
Harness racing Florida Chapter USHWA logo.jpg
Florida USHWA Hall of Fame inductees (l-r) Mark O'Mara, Lucien Fontaine and Steve Wolf

Pompano Beach, FL --- Tickets are still available at the door for tonight’s Florida Chapter of the United States Harness Writers Association’s 23rd annual Hall of Fame awards dinner at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, Deerfield Beach.

Tickets are $75 per person and late registration can also be made by phone (954) 654-3757. Cocktail party starts at 6:00 pm followed by awards dinner at 7:30 pm.

Elected to the chapter’s Hall of Fame, which recognizes special individuals who have been outstanding leaders within the industry for more than ten years and who have contributed to the betterment of the Standardbred Industry, are two longtime harness racing driver/trainers, Lucien Fontaine of Coconut Creek and Mark O’Mara of Parkland.

Being inducted into the Communicators’ Corner of the Hall of Fame, which is presented to an outstanding individual who had devoted his or her print or broadcast career to promoting the harness racing industry goes to former Isle Pompano Park Marketing Director, Steven Wolf, of Coral Springs.

Three horses will be inducted into the Hall of Fame for their outstanding racing and/or stallion/broodmare careers. They are former stakes and Invitational pacer, I’d Like To Win, Florida’s leading pacing stallion, Six Of Diamonds and the former world and track record holding trotter, Tweedle Dum.

The other Florida award winners are:

JODY DANCER – Delvin Miller award

TOM AUDLEY – William Popfinger award

KIM SEARS – Stanley Dancer award

MICHELLE HALLETT – Frances Dodge Van Lennep award

Victoria Howard/Peter Roccasano – R.D. Ricketts award

ED HENSLEY – Peter Haughton award

ROB WYRE – Dan Gawlas Good Guy award

JOE HARVILLA – Lifetime Achievement award

PAM SENCLAIR – Caretaker of the Year award

In addition to the Florida USHWA chapter’s awards, presentations will also be made by the Florida Standardbred Breeders and Owners Association to the owners of the top 2- and 3-year-old state-bred trotters and pacers from the 2013 season and the annual Breeder of the Year Award, which goes to Kim and Jay Sears. The Florida Amateur Driving Club will also present their Driver of the Year award to John Campagnuolo.

From the Florida Chapter of USHWA

Comment (...) Tweet Share Email Print

Read More News About...

Stallion Name

Next article: