Day At The Track

Zanardi wins South Australian Horse of the Year

05:02 AM 05 Nov 2013 NZDT
Comment (...) Tweet Share Email Print

The Horse of the year awards where conducted by HRSA on Sunday at Globe Derby with a large crowd in attendance.

The award winners were "Driver of the Year" David Harding who won the State Title for the ninth time in succussion, Aaron Brown won the Trainers title with 98 wins for the season while Matthew Smith was crowned the young driver of the year. Jill Nielson  won the Lady Trainers award and Danielle Hill the leading lady driver.

The ill fated Zanardi took out the prestigious Horse of the Year award. He won 10 races from 15 South Australian starts after transferring to the Les Harding stable from WA.

Zanardi tragically lost his life to a complication during an operation. He was by  Courage Under Fire  from the El Patron mare Dorim Hostess who also produced Big Bad Holmes (14 Australian wins) and Le Host winner of 4 races in Oz. 

Broodmare of the Year went to Clarenden Diva the dam of Four Stazzz Fella and the excitring American Muscle (winner of the 4 & 5 year old Championship at Melton) and yesterday placed third after a horrid run in the Maryborough Cup.

Gary Newton

Comment (...) Tweet Share Email Print

Read More News About...

Stallion Name

Next article: