Day At The Track

Group One Golden Nugget Championship

05:02 PM 04 Dec 2013 NZDT
Comment (...) Tweet Share Email Print
Dasher VC
Lewis won with Dasher VC in 2010
W Crabb Photo

Odds on a new driver and trainer will join list of winners of Golden Nugget

Chris Lewis, who will drive Heez On From barrier 12 in Friday night's Group One Lancaster Park Golden Nugget Championship, is the only driver in this year's field who has won the race previously.

Lewis won with Vero Prince in 1987, Flashing Star in 1994, Saab in 1998 and Dasher VC in 2010. He trained Vero Prince with the other three all being freelance drives.

Similarly, Gary Hall is the only trainer to have previously trained a winner of the Golden Nugget courtesy of Gold Ace in 2011 where took over the horse for a WA campaign aimed specifically at the race.

Hall's superstar pair of The Falcon Strike (2001) and Im Themightyquinn (2008) were both beaten in their respective Golden Nuggets before going on to far greater heights in subsequent seasons.

This year Hall is represented by two starters in My Hard Copy and Northview Punter which have both drawn awkwardly and will need their fair share of luck to give Hall a second Nugget win as a trainer.

Eastern States trained horses have got a remarkably good strike rate in the Golden Nugget with 14 of the previous 33 runnings of the race seeing the winner come from outside of Western Australia.

With the likes of Chilli Palmer, Nowitzki and Bit Of A Legend drawn between barriers one and four there is a fair chance the record will stand at 15 of 34 after this week's race.

Previous winners Lancaster Park Golden Nugget 4yo Championship

     Date                       Winner                           Trainer                        Driver 

6/02/1981       JUSTIN HANOVER         A L (Tony) Peacock      A L (Tony) Peacock     
12/02/1982      SINN FEIN                      G D (Greg) Harper       G D (Greg) Harper      
11/02/1983      CLASSIC GARRY          G D (Greg) Harper       F R (Fred) Kersley     
20/01/1984      YARRACOOLA               T B (Trevor) Warwick    T B (Trevor) Warwick   
8/02/1985       MORANO MAGIC NZ      T B (Trevor) Warwick    T B (Trevor) Warwick   
7/02/1986       VANDERPORT                D F (Don) Murphy        A (Anne) Frawley       
13/02/1987      VERO PRINCE              A C (Chris) Lewis       A C (Chris) Lewis      
12/02/1988      OUR MAESTRO NZ      R V (Bob) Knight        V J (Vin) Knight       
10/02/1989      SINBAD BAY                  R V (Bob) Knight        V J (Vin) Knight       
15/12/1989      WESTBURN GRANT    V W (Vic) Frost V W (Vic) Frost
25/01/1991      ADMIRAL HOLLIDAY NZ     B A (Bryan) Rogers      B A (Bryan) Rogers     
24/01/1992      IMPRESSIONIST NZ     T E (Ted) Demmler       T E (Ted) Demmler      
22/01/1993      VALLEY CHAMP             D T (Des) Parr  G E (Gary) Hall (Snr)  
28/01/1994      FLASHING STAR           C L (Colin) Cummins     A C (Chris) Lewis      
27/01/1995      SLICK VANCE NZ          R (Reg) Trevean T B (Trevor) Warwick   
8/12/1995       BEEFY T NZ                     J P (John) Green        R J (Rod) Chambers     
6/12/1996       MON POPPY DAY ***     R J (Rod) Chambers      R J (Rod) Chambers     
5/12/1997       SALINGER                       F R (Fred) Kersley      F R (Fred) Kersley     
18/12/1998      SAAB                                R A (Ross) Olivieri     A C (Chris) Lewis      
10/12/1999      COUNTESS KALA NZ        N J (Noel) Keiley       L B (Lindsay) Harper   
15/12/2000      SEELSTER SAM NZ     D W (Dennis) Wilson     D W (Dennis) Wilson    
14/12/2001      MANIFOLD BAY             G K (Grant) Crane       G (Gavin) Lang 
13/12/2002      TRICKY VIC NZ             M G (Mike) Reed M B (Mark) Reed
20/02/2004      TE KANARAMA              G R (Graeme) Watts      G R (Graeme) Watts     
8/04/2005       TARTARY GLADIATOR   K F (Kevin) Keys        K F (Kevin) Keys       
16/12/2005      GEE WHIZ FIZZ             S D (Steven) Burton     R (Ryan) Warwick       
15/12/2006      MR YANKEE NZ            G D (Greg) Harper       K K (Kade) Howson      
14/12/2007      LOMBO POCKET WATCH      P R J (Paul) Fitzpatrick        G J (Gavin) Fitzpatrick
28/11/2008      SCHINZIG BULLER     G D (Greg) Harper       K K (Kade) Howson      
27/11/2009      BONAVISTA BAY            E J (Emma) Stewart      M B (Mark) Reed
26/11/2010      DASHER VC NZ            R A (Ross) Olivieri     A C (Chris) Lewis      
25/11/2011      GOLD ACE NZ               G E (Gary) Hall (Snr)   G E (Gary) Hall (Jnr)  
7/12/2012       IM VICTORIOUS NZ        M G (Michael) Brennan   J K (Justin) Prentice  
*** True Takeoff - 1st but disq swab                   

Alan Parker

Assistant Manager - Harness Racing


Comment (...) Tweet Share Email Print

Read More News About...

Stallion Name

Next article: