Day At The Track

History awaits Miracle Mile winner

03:08 PM 24 Nov 2013 NZDT
Comment (...) Tweet Share Email Print
For A Reason
Can For A Reason join that elite group
Ross Stevenson Photo

It is the most anticipated Miracle Mile in recent memory, but what does history say about the 2013 edition of the famous sprint?

Smoken Up is out to win his third Miracle Mile. No horse has ever achieved that feat.

Christen Me (by Christian Cullen) is trying to become the first son or daughter of a Miracle Mile winner to replicate his/her sire's success. Paleface Bubble (by Paleface Adios) and Melpark Major (by Iraklis) both finished second.

Beautide is attempting to break a long hoodoo for Newcastle Mile winners. The only horse to go on to win the Miracle Mile in the same year is Westburn Grant in 1990 (Our Sir Vancelot won the Newcastle Mile in 1998 the year after winning the Miracle Mile).

In what is a truly rare occurrence, the last time a horse won the Miracle Mile for the first time at his/her third attempt was Double Agent in 1984. That's the challenge for Terror To Love!

There are four NSW Derby winners that went on to win the Miracle Mile. Paleface Adios, Westburn Grant, Holmes DG and Divisive. Can For A Reason join that elite group.

No driver has ever won 4 Miracle Miles. Vic Frost, Tony Herlihy and Lance Justice are currently on three each. Can Lance take the lead?

Before Terror To Love, the last horse to win three New Zealand Cups was False Step in 1958-60 - seven years before the first Miracle Mile was even run!

I'm Victorious is trying to emulate the deed of Village Kid by becoming the first West Australian since 1987 to win the Miracle Mile "cold" without a lead-up run in Sydney.

Dale Walker


Comment (...) Tweet Share Email Print

Read More News About...

Stallion Name

Next article: