Day At The Track

Meadowlands - Tioga Drivers' Championship

02:49 PM 17 Aug 2011 NZST
Comment (...) Tweet Share Email Print
Tioga Downs Racing Casino & Entertainment
Courtesy Of The Meadowlands Media Relations Department

Four races have been slated to make up the opening leg of the harness racing 2011 Fifth Annual Drivers' Championship to begin on Saturday, August 20th on closing night at The Meadowlands. The Championship will kick off in race number two at the Big M featuring Yannick Gingras, David Miller, Ron Pierce, George Brennan, Ed Hensley, Tim Tetrick, Andy Miller, Brian Sears, and Jody Jamieson.

All nine drivers will compete for points to gain the upper edge on the competition looking towards the second leg which will take place on Sunday, August 28th at Tioga Downs. The leading driver in points after The Meadowlands leg will take home $10,000, and be in the best spot to land another $25,000 in Nichols, New York. Saturday night at The Meadowlands, races two, five, eight, and ten will be Drivers’ Championship races that the nine drivers will compete in to earn points. The point system is as follows: 1st place – 10 points, 2nd place – 7 points, 3rd place – 5 points, 4th place – 3 points, and 5th place – 1 point.

When the Championship heads to Tioga, purses for the races used for the events have been bumped up 20% for Sunday, August 28th. Plus, trainer bonus checks will be paid out in races used for the Championship, for horses finishing sixth through ninth, each will be paid $100. Entries for the Drivers’ Championship races are due in to the Tioga race office by Thursday, August 25th at 9:00 am and can be called in to 607.699.7688. Condition sheets can be found online at

Also featured on Sunday, August 28th at Tioga Downs is the $420,000e Zweig Memorial Trot for 3-year old trotters. Last year Temple Of Doom and Lucky Chucky took home the two divisions for male trotters, while Up Front Juansteen and Impressive Kemp took home divisions for filly trotters. Post time for the Sunday, August 28th race card at Tioga Downs is set for 1:30 pm.

Tioga Downs would like to thank its sponsors for the 2011 Drivers’ Championship: Accumark, Allerage Farms, All Event’s Engraving, Big Dee’s Tack and Vet Supplies, Binghamton Senators, Bow River Jewelry, Community Press, Coon and Son’s, Climans Green Liang Architects, Delaware County Fair, Dig Safely, Elmira Jackals, Evolution Racing LLC, Ferris Tractor,, Harness Racing Hall of Fame, Horsemen & Fair World Magazine, Hub International, Jim Riegle Colors, Larson Design Group, Lexington Select Yearling Sale, LV Harkness, Mainesource, Maitland Trifecta, Nathan’s Hot Dogs, Northwood Bloodstock, Oakdale Mall, Ontrack, Roberts Communication Network, STHHA, Tioga State Bank, Winbak Farms, and Youth Beats.

Dustin ROSS

Comment (...) Tweet Share Email Print

Read More News About...

Stallion Name

Next article: