Day At The Track

Mick Lombardo named Breeder of the Year

03:55 AM 11 Nov 2009 NZDT
Comment (...) Tweet Share Email Print
Mick Lombardo
Mick Lombardo - Owner of Lombo Pocket Watch
Photo by Simon Evans

Mick Lombardo, Australia's largest and most successful breeder, was named the Ian Daff Memorial Breeder of the Year for 2008/09 at the Harness Racing Breeders annual Gala Dinner and Presentation Night at Tabcorp Park last Friday.

The principal of Lombo Standardbreds, who bred almost 50 individual winners for the season headed up by the Oaks winning filly Ima Spicey Lombo, Lombo Pocket Watch, Yakuza and Loving Life Lombo, said: "It's wonderful to be here tonight to receive such a wonderful trophy."

"I just hope that my horses keep winning and the people who buy them keep winning with them. I get a lot of thrills out of watching horses that I sold win as well as my own (horses)," Lombardo said.

The award was sponsored by Metro Printing.

To cap a great night for Lombardo, his former champion racemare Tailamade Lombo was adjudged the Victorian Broodmare of the Year for 2009. Among her offspring is the Hobart Pacing Cup and Moonee Valley winner Yakuza.

The Sire of the Year was Village Jasper,

the Juvenile Sire of the Year was Life Sign and

the Broodmare Sire of the Year was What's Next.

The VSB&SA Awards for the champion horses for 2008/09 were:

2YO Pacing Colt - Grinnersawinner;

2YO Pacing Filly - Rocknrolla;

2YO Trotter - Rostevarren;

3YO Pacing Colt - Villagem;

3YO Pacing Filly - Broadways Best;

3YO Trotter - Let Me Thru;

Aged Pacing Horse - Melpark Major;

Aged Pacing Mare - Pacific Charm;

Aged Trotter - I Didnt Do It

Awards were also presented to the breeders of Super Sires Stakes champions, Group 1 winners and 1:59 pacers and 2:05 trotters.

Member draws for stallion services were conducted on the night. The winners were: David Lewis - service to Red River Hanover (Nevele R Stud);

Veritas Holdings - Santanna Blue Chip (Stallion Station);

Brian Dobson - Sutter Hanover (Alabar Bloodstock);

Phillip Nott - Pacific Fella (Stallion Station) and

William Buckley - Lawman (Mountainview Stud).

The Special Effort was also drawn on the night and the winners were:

Gary Bailey ($3,000 travel voucher from Harness Travelworld),

Alan Smith (service to Armbro Variable - Rosehill Stud) and

P. Gibbons, Mount Gambier ($500 travel voucher - Harness Travelworld).

Trophies valued in excess of $8,000 were presented on the night.

A crowd of 160 was in attendance including visitors from all States except Queensland.

The Association is particularly grateful to Lauriston Bloodstock for the big screen and to the host of sponsors of the awards.

By Peter Wharton

Comment (...) Tweet Share Email Print

Read More News About...

Stallion Name

Next article: