Day At The Track

Orleans OM upsets in the Prix Repubblica

10:53 PM 02 Jun 2013 NZST
Comment (...) Tweet Share Email Print
Orleans OM             Wishing Stone, harness racing
Orleans OM
(Gaet photo)
Wishing Stone

Orleans OM (5f SJ's Caviar-Deux de Mai-Super Pleasure) enjoyed a perfect trip from Giuseppe Lombardo Jr. to score an upset win in Bologna's Gran Prix Repubblica today.

The 1660 meter autostart event carried a purse of 45,100 euro and was the winner’s 13th victory in 49 starts, raising her career earnings to over 367,000 euro. Favored Mirtillo Rosso with Enrico Bellei up, was parked throughout and finished fifth in a blanket finish. Pacesetter Novarica held gamely to finish second with Negresco Milar third. Time for the race was 1.12.7kr

Replay below

Entries were drawn for the June 9th Copenhagen Cup at Charlottenlund, the 2012 event that was won by Wishing Stone. Commander Crowe heads the list that also includes the good Italian mare Orsia and veterans Noras Bean and Classic Grand Cru.

Copenhagen Cup Gr I International

June 9, 2013 Charlottenlund - 2040m, autostart

1-Joke Face SW

2-Classic Grand Cru GER

3-Oracle SW

4-Commander Crowe SW

5-Edward Ale FI

6-Orsia ITY

7-Quinoa du Gers FR

8-Obi Wan Denmark

9-Mr Piccolit SW

10- Noras Bean SW

Fastest win in the Copenhagen Cup history, begun in 1928, was 1.10.7kr by Libeccio Grif in 2011. Past US winners include Elaine Rodney in 1964, Keystone Pioneer (Wm. Haughton) in 1977, SJ’s Photo (David Wade) in 1995 and Moni Maker (Wally Hennessey) in 1998.

Other European winners of note this weekend included:

  • Pina Starlight (4f Trade Balance-Eileen OK) won the 500,000HUf Mill H at Kincsem Park, scoring over 1960 meters for Tibor Hajnal and owner Illetmeny Kft;

  • Fly The World (3f Juliano Star-Night Mare-Ride The Night) won the Guildstoet 2013 at Axevalla over 2140 meters autostart in, taking home 350,000SEK first money for Juha Siirtonen. Second went to Mythical Fortune (3f Mythical Lindy-Foreign Fortune-Foreign Office) with Orjan Kihlstrom up with third to the Johnny Takter driven The Divine Miss F (3f Kiss Francis-Fast Wise As-Yankee Glide;

  • Avanti LM (6g Love You-Orchide Hornline-Lindy’s Crown) took the 100,000SEK first prize in the Axevalla Hertiginnan over 2140 meters autostart for driver Kajsa Frick. The winner was timed in 1.15.7kr to defeat Bulldozer (5m Cantab Hall-Tess Omega-Mack Lobell) handled by Susanne Osterling with Onice Axe (5f Love You-Blazing Janice-Pine Chip) third for Sofie Svedin;

  • Simb Ruby (7f Alf Palema-Rada Nilema-Mack Lobell) also won at Axevalla today, scoring in 1.12.7kr for the 50,000SEK first money in the 1640 meters autostart Gronsakshusets for driver Stefan Soderkvist. Mermaid As was second followed by Global Kitten;

  • Yesterday (June 1) at Mantorp the featured Ina Scots Pris went to Standout (4m Ganymede-Ebony DK-Royal Troubador) for Ulf Ohlsson. He captured the 300,000SEK first money with a 1.12.4kr score;

  • Scouby Djob (7g Kiwi-Ironique-Siberien) captured the 150,000 first prize Gold Division in 1.12.1kr for Jorma Kontio, defeating Deuxieme Picsous and Harry Haythrow in a fast class trotting field;

  • Digital Darling (5f Super Photo Kosmos-My Darling-Mr. Vic) scored in a sharp 1.10.1kr to win the Silver Division at Mantorp over 1640 meters autostart. She earned 125,000SEK for trainer/driver Stefan Melander, winning for the 14th time in 44 starts;

  • Your Highness (4f Chocolatier-La Belle Lady-Conway Hall) won a four year-old event at Mantorp in 1.13.8kr, taking home 100,000SEK first money in a 2140 meter event. Over the same distance but with autostart, Estrella Dorada (6f Gidde Palema-Lovely Hornline-Lindy’s Crown) won 100,000SEK in a class 1 event, scoring in 1.12.2kr for Kim Eriksson;

  • Lightly raced Dakota Chip (3m Donato Hanover-My Favorite Chip-Pine Chip) won at Mantorp in 1.15.6kr over 2140 meters autostart for his fourth victory in seven lifetime appearances. Lasse Punkari drove the 2011 US import to earn 40,000SEK first money
by Thomas H. HICKS

Comment (...) Tweet Share Email Print

Read More News About...

Stallion Name

Next article: