Day At The Track

A Night of celebration honours 2013 Award winners

10:51 PM 26 Nov 2013 NZDT
Comment (...) Tweet Share Email Print
2012/13 Victorian Breeder of the Year Harvey Kaplan and his wife Shelley with the spoils.

Victorian breeders, studmasters, sponsors and officials took part in a night of celebration at Saturday night’s Harness Breeders Victoria’s Gala Dinner and Presentation Night to honour the 2012/13 award recipients.

Prominent Melbourne breeder and owner Harvey Kaplan was on hand to accept the Ian Daff Memorial Breeder of the Year award and the Australian and Victorian Broodmare of the Year awards for Alldatglittersisgold NZ. Kaplan joined an elite list of former winners as the breeder of Group 1 winners Baby Bling, Bling It On and Fly Like An Eagle along with a swag of metropolitan-winning pacers.

A number of outstanding performers were winners of multiple awards on the night. Two-year-old pacing filly Distant Memory, two-year-old trotting colt Im Stately and three-year-old trotting colt Blitzthemcalder all collected Champion, Super Sires Stakes champion and Group 1 awards.

While Guaranteed (3YO colt), Claudys Princess (2YO trotting filly) and Spidergirl (3YO trotting filly) won Super Sires and Champion awards and crack three-year-old filly Frith collected a Champion Award and a Group 1 trophy.

Other Group 1 winners were Mindarie Priddy (APG Final), Lennytheshark (NSW Derby), Ginger Bliss (Tas. Derby), Four Sisters (SA Oaks), Lettucerockthem (APG Final & NSW Breeders Challenge), Mister Jadore (WA Sales Classic) and Spicy Stride (NSW Breeders Challenge).

Alabar Bloodstock made a clean sweep of the Stallion Awards with Art Major being named the Sire of the Year and Juvenile Sire of the Year and Safely Kept the Broodmare Sire of the Year.

Lombo Standardbreds’ Mick Lombardo, who was not present, bred an amazing 26 performers to go inside 1:59 for the season. Brian and Marilyn Gourley and Alabar Bloodstock each collected seven 1:59 pins, Helen Head received six, Harvey Kaplan five, and Bruce Edward, Ian and Judi Slater, Staffordshire Park and Redbank Lodge Standardbreds all received four.

The draw for the Stallion Services was won by Todd Rivett (Artistic Fella), Joan Visca (Stonebridge Regal), Laurie Young (Auckland Reactor), Peter Colvin (Smiling Shard) and David Sheppard (Lawman).

Byford (WA) breeder Angela Treasure won the first prize of a $3,000 travel voucher from Harness Racing Travelworld; Jemal Arif, of Aberfeldie (Vic.), collected the second prize of a service to Danny Bouchea (Loddon Valley Stud) and Frank Jessup, of Footscray (Vic.), the third prize of a $500 travel voucher from Harness Racing Travelworld.

Metro Printing and Australian Pacing Gold were the principal sponsors of the Awards Dinner. Other sponsors were Harness Racing Victoria, Alabar Bloodstock, Empire Stallions, Woodlands Stud, Global Stallion Management, Loddon Valley Stud, Mountain View Stud, Nevele R Stud, Goodtime Lodge, Aldebaran Park, Benstud Standardbreds, Minitube Australia, Pacific Vet, Pryde’s EasiFeed, James & Son, Harness Racing Travelworld and Renown Silverware.

This year's function held at Tabcorp Park Melton was again well attended with 126 people in attendance. A special thanks to HBV secretary Ian Kitchin, who pulled the whole show together, and MC Adam Crettenden.

More than $9,000 of trophies and prizes were handed out on the night.

The winners of the Champion Awards were:

2YO Pacing Colt – Lettucerockthem

2YO Pacing Filly – Distant Memory

3YO Pacing Colt – Guaranteed

3YO Pacing Filly – Frith

Aged Pacing Entire/Gelding – Bitobliss

Aged Pacing Mare – Blucolla Tigerpie

2YO Trotting Colt – Im Stately

2YO Trotting Filly – Claudys Princess

3YO Trotting Colt – Blitzthemcalder

3YO Trotting Filly – Spidergirl

Sire of the Year – Art Major

Juvenile Sire of the Year – Art Major

Broodmare Sire of the Year – Safely Kept

Broodmare of the Year - Alldatglittersisgold

By Peter Wharton


Comment (...) Tweet Share Email Print

Read More News About...

Stallion Name

Next article: