Day At The Track

Premiership winner to represent NZ in WDC

11:34 AM 15 Feb 2018 NZDT
Comment (...) Tweet Share Email Print
Blair Orange,harness racing
Blair Orange who currently leads the NZ drivers premiership
Photo Bruce Stewart

The battle to be this season’s leading overall driver has just had another plot twist.

Last week the Harness Racing New Zealand Board agreed to commit to the winner of this season’s premiership being given the rights to represent New Zealand at the World Driving Championship next year in Sweden.

With just over five months remaining in the racing season, there will be an extra incentive to go alongside the title of New Zealand’s leading driver for 2017/18.

Dexter Dunn has won the last ten premierships in a row, including the junior title in four of those seasons. But he has his work cut out for him the season as he attempts to chase down currently leader, Blair Orange.

As of today, Thursday 15 February before the Manawatu meeting, Orange sits on 121 wins, while Dunn is on 97, and John Dunn is third on 65 wins.

Should Blair Orange win it will be the first time he has competed in the World Driving Championship, whilst Dunn is a previous World Champion and has represented New Zealand in past series.

New Zealand has a proud record in the series, with previous winners; Dexter Dunn (Australia, 2015); Mark Jones (Canada, 2003); Maurice McKendry (Australia/NZ 1991); Tony Herlihy (Australai/NZ 1985); Robert Cameron (Macau 1983) and Kevin Holmes (USA/Canada 1978).


Jess Smith

Comment (...) Tweet Share Email Print

Read More News About...

Stallion Name

Next article: