Day At The Track

10-year-old mare Quarass Rose still wnning

12:28 AM 28 Mar 2014 NZDT
Comment (...) Tweet Share Email Print
Quarass Rose, harness racing Be Mine Tonight, Harness racing Raja Mirchi, harness racing
Quarass Rose, at age 10, still has winning form
Paris Turf Photo
Be Mine Tonight (inside) wins the Prix de Cavaillon
Paris Turf Photo
Raja Mirchi is one of the favorites in the Masters Series
Webbsporten Se Photo

Franck Nivard today teamed the veteran ten-year-old mare Quarass Rose to a decisive victory in the £90,000 Gr. III Grand National du Trot Leg#2.

Laurent Fortin trains the daughter of Tarass Boulba as she earned her 12th career win, now for earnings in excess of £289,000. The win, at 9.1/1 odds, moves her into a tie for leading GNT point leaders.

Quarass Rose covered 3000 meters in 1.14.6kr to defeat 15 rivals including second place Quotient Gede, trained and reined by Christophe Chalon. Today's race was the Quinte+ race of the day and the top five finishers in exact order paid over £168,000 to holders of a £2 ticket (excluding jackpot that has reached £6.3 million).

GNT Point Leaders:

1(tie): Vicomte Boufarcaux 15 points
1(tie): Quarass Rose 15 points
3rd: Quotient Gede 12 points
4th: Ugo de Nieul 8 points
5th: Upman 6 points

Later in the card Jean-Pierre Dubois reined his bred and owned Be Mine Tonight to her first victory in the £22,000 Prix de Cavaillon for three year-olds over the 2300 meter autostart course. The Quatre Juillet filly scored in 1.16.6kr over Bottaris. Patrick Chevrier trains the winner with stablemate Bently de Raconis a fast finishing third with Nicholas Ensch teaming. Dubois' driving victory was his 38th in the last twelve months and second in 2014 following recovery from a brief illness.

Solvalla’s V75 feature Saturday is the Gold Div. Gr. II UET Masters Series over 214o meters. The winner will earn 250,000SEK and the ten starters represent the best of northern Europe’s currently active aged trotters. Some will likely appear in the Olympiatravet in late April.

Gold Final - Master Series UET – Gr II -2140 meters, 250,000SEK ($38,500 US) to winner

  1. Labero Broline (Erik Adielsson)
  2. Raja Mirchi (Lutfi Kolgjini)
  3. Sanity (Örjan Kihlström)
  4. Yanantin Boko (Darren Mizzi)
  5. Harry Haythrow (Peter Untersteiner)
  6. Montgomery Gel (Jorma Kontio)
  7. Lord Capar (Thomas Dalborg)
  8. Dreams Take Time (Johnny Takter)
  9. Francais du Gull (Torbjörn Jansson)
  10. Kash’s Cantab (Björn Goop)
The field includes Raja Mirchi, Lutfi Kolgjini’s pupil that was recently fourth to Harry Haythrow after a win at Kalmar. Sanity, a son of Love You, performed well in France before recently being humbled by the fresh Harry Haythrow that Peter Untersteiner will drive. Not to be overlooked are Montgomery Gel and teamster Jorma Kontio.

by Thomas H. Hicks, for




Comment (...) Tweet Share Email Print

Read More News About...

Stallion Name

Next article: