Day At The Track

Rod Croon appointed to NZ Racing Board

05:43 AM 19 Jul 2012 NZST
Comment (...) Tweet Share Email Print
ATC president, Rod Croon (left)
ATC president, Rod Croon (left) - at Alexandra Park with NZ Prime Minister, John Key.

New Zealand Racing Minister for harness racing, galloping & greyhounds, Nathan Guy, today (Thursday July 19) announced the appointment of Dr Alan Jackson, Greg McCarthy, Rod Croon (Auckland Trotting Club president), Graham Cooney and Alistair Ryan to the New Zealand Racing Board's (NZRB) governing body.

"The board has a crucial strategic and leadership role to help racing reach its potential as a strong and sustainable industry," says Mr Guy.

"Racing is a major industry with a turnover of around $1.6 billion and supporting almost 9000 fulltime equivalent jobs.

"The new appointments bring a valuable range of senior business, marketing and industry experience. Their expertise will help the NZRB to promote and develop this important industry.

"I want to thank Chairman Michael Stiassny for his two terms of service, and the other outgoing members for their work. The three racing codes are now working more closely together and the new board must build on this good work."

Dr Alan Jackson was appointed as independent Chairperson following consultation with the racing industry. Greg McCarthy was nominated by the thoroughbred racing code and Rod Croon by the harness racing code.

Independent board members Graham Cooney and Alistair Ryan were recommended by the statutory nomination advisory panel, following consultation with the industry.


Comment (...) Tweet Share Email Print

Read More News About...

Stallion Name

Next article: