Day At The Track

South Australian Horse of the Year finalists

05:18 PM 28 Oct 2016 NZDT
Comment (...) Tweet Share Email Print
Harness Racing South Australia.jpg
Courtesy Of Harness Racing South Australia

Harness Racing SA is pleased to announce the finalists for the 2015-16 Horse of the Year awards.

This year, to acknowledge the efforts of a larger number of 4YO & Older Horses, both the Trotters and Pacers Categories of this age group have been separated into two categories, one for Mares and one for Entires & Geldings.


The Finalists are:

Arm A Princess   Aquaflight
Ellen Louise   Emain Macha
Miss Mappinga   Glenrae Hanover
Our Celebrity   Hez a Chance
Rocknroll Baby   Stars of Courage
Shania Black   Wroxton Steel
Badelaide   Doubledipofheaven
Dougs Limousine   Futurist
Lily Thesinger   Jumping Jolt
Perfectly Written   Oceans Predator
Queen Of Sharkz   Official Art
Rocknroll Magic   Presidentmach
Bianca Tang   Adam Cartwright
Canturi Crest   Cheap Tint
Kamwood Dawn   Cillas Boy NZ
Lis Tureen NZ   Come On Frank
Little Foo                                                                     Global View                                                                        
Miasblaze    Lost In Bangkok NZ
Our Mischievious Miss NZ    Machtavish NZ
Reil Quick   Majestic Lustre NZ
Ricks Shadow   Mark Dennis NZ
Whats Emma Got   Some Kinda Tactics NZ
Down Under Rors  Outback Madge
Meluna  Top Of The Rock
Soh Twisted  
Aldebaran Daisy Joekenn
Bee A Lassie Lysenko NZ
Emilys Vacation Ole Sun NZ
Hard Done By Pocketfullofcash
Im Princess Sophie Rejuvenation
Twiggy Argyle Tommy Kay
Variable Miss  


Panel members will now cast their votes in each category and the winners will be announced at the function. The panel members will also vote for the SA Horse of the Year, which will come from one of the category winners.

Horse of the Year Panel for the 2015-2016 season:

Jamie Braidwood
Michael Bryant
Graham Fischer
Ben Harding
Lincoln Moore
Gary Newton
Ben Scadden

This year will also be the inaugural presentation of the Jim Hurley Award. The Jim Hurley Award recognises a trainer or driver who has performed consistently at a high level throughout the racing season. It also honours a past great of the sport, Jim Hurley.

Nominations are open for the SA Broodmare of the Year for season 2015-16. When nominating a broodmare, the performances of her progeny for the 2015-16 racing season is to be considered. The broodmare must be owned by a resident of SA. After nominations are received, the Horse of the Year panel will be asked to vote for their top choice. Nominations for this award can be made with the Racing Office until COB Monday 7th November 16, either by phone on 8285 0731 or 82850732 or by email to

After seeking industry feedback, the venue for the Horse of the Year Function will be held off track at the beautiful Grange Golf Club on Sunday 20th November commencing at 12:30pm. Tickets are available from Harness Racing SA, SA BOTRA and Hopkins Saddlery.  All industry participants are invited to attend this fabulous annual event.

The criteria for the 2015-2016 SA Horse of The Year Awards can be found on our website.

by David Thuen, Racing Operations Manager

Comment (...) Tweet Share Email Print

Read More News About...

Stallion Name

Next article: