Day At The Track

Pachacuti Tasmanian Horse of the Year

03:23 PM 22 Sep 2013 NZST
Comment (...) Tweet Share Email Print
Pachacuti winning in Hobart
Pachacuti winning in Hobart
Peter Staples Photo

STAR three-year-old pacer Pachacuti was last night named Tasmanian Horse of the Year.

Pachacuti was deemed Tasmania’s best by a panel of judges and his achievements were applauded by a packed house at the Tasmanian Harness Racing Awards night at Wrest Point Hotel Casino.

The three-year-old also was a clear winner of the 3YO colts and geldings category, much to the delight of his owner Lyndon Dakin and trainer Barrie Rattray.

Pachacuti capped his season in Tasmania with a brilliant victory in the $30,000 Globe Derby Strakes in Launceston before heading to Victoria where he made it to the 3YO colts and geldings final of the Breeders Crown by winning his heat and then finished a courageous second to star NZ colt Bit of a Legend in the Group 1 final.

Pachacuti won the Horse of the Year crown ahead of his stablemate Beautide that was voted Tasmania’s best in the four-year-old and over category.

Nola Mayhem was voted Tasmania’s best three-year-old filly with her two feature wins enough to give her the nod over an even bunch of fillies.

Unbeaten juvenile Resurgent Spirit that won nine from nine was unrivaled to take out the top 2YO colt or gelding title while smart filly Sweet Pea Jasper was named 2YO filly of the year courtesy of her Sweepstakes triumph.

Another of the Rattray stable Benediction was named Tasmania’s best race mare and The Fred and Pauline Barker-bred Amarillen was named Tasmania’s top broodmare just ahead of the Rattray-owned Gorse Bush

Star Tasmanian reinsman Gareth Rattray won his eighth consecutive driver’s premiership while his father Barrie celebrated his 15th Tasmanian trainer’s title.

The pair also battled it out for the honour of being named the 2013 winner of the Halwes Medal with Gareth emerging triumphant by a narrow margin.

Gareth won the inaugural Halwes Medal last year.

Talented young reinsman Dylan Ford won the Tasmanian Junior Driver title and he also received the Young Achiever Award as the highest polling junior driver in the Halwes Medal count.

To cap the night, North-West Coast harness identity Rod Burgess was announced as the 2013 recipient of the Edgar Tatlow Medal.

Burgess has been involved in the industry for over five decades as a trainer-driver, administrator and breeder.

He has devoted a lifetime to the industry and the Edgar Tatlow Medal was just reward for his efforts.

The participant awards also were presented at the function: The state's leading trainer was Barrie Rattray; Gareth Rattray leading driver; Kate McLeod leading female driver and Juanita McKenzie was the best female trainer in the state for season 2012-13.

Dylan Ford won the junior driver title.

Peter Staples

Comment (...) Tweet Share Email Print

Read More News About...

Stallion Name

Next article: