Day At The Track

The Raceway's 2013 award winners announced

12:04 PM 07 Jan 2014 NZDT
Comment (...) Tweet Share Email Print
The Raceway.jpg

London, January 6, 2014 -- The Raceway at Western Fair District will hold its annual awards night on Saturday, February 22 at the Carousel Room at The Raceway.

The Raceway’s top performers for 2013 will be honoured in a variety of categories. Awards for the three-year-olds and older horses are based on the top money earners who made a minimum of six starts at The Raceway in 2013. The claiming awards are based on the most number of claiming wins at The Raceway in 2013.

The Owner of the Year award, sponsored by Standardbred Canada, goes to the Top 10 money-winning owner who had the highest number of starts during the season.

New this year is the Caretaker of the Year award. To qualify, caretakers must be nominated by Wednesday, January 15th. To nominate someone, send an email with your reason why to one of the following:, or

The Raceway will also honour its Overall Horse of the Year the night of the event.

Tickets will go on sale next week and will be available in both the race office and the promotions department. For more information, contact 519-438-7203 (ext. 320).

The 2013 award winners are as follows:

Older Pacing Horse – Royal Outlook

Older Pacing Mare – Rachel Olivia

Three-Year-Old Pacing Colt – Ja El Pocketrocket

Three-Year-Old Pacing Filly – Sophie Blu

Older Trotting Horse – CIS Buckeye

Older Trotting Mare – Thunderaway

Three-Year-Old Trotting Colt – P C Smart Ash

Three-Year-Old Trotting Filly – Little Red Chev

Claiming Pacer – L H Lil Count

Claiming Trotter – Fashion Fun

Owner of the Year – James Morency

Outstanding Service Award – To Be Announced

Caretaker of the Year – To Be Announced

Horse of the Year – To Be Announced

by Greg Blanchard for The Raceway

Comment (...) Tweet Share Email Print

Read More News About...

Stallion Name

Next article: