Day At The Track

Trotters Association inaugural Awards Night

06:23 AM 25 Oct 2017 NZDT
Comment (...) Tweet Share Email Print
John Tapp, harness racing
Chris and Graeme Land "On The Couch" with John Tapp at the Trotters Association of NSW Awards Night.

Trotting stalwarts Peter Sullivan and John Heath were honoured at the inaugural Trotters Association of New South Wales Awards Night at Penrith Paceway on October 13.

Both were presented with Honorary Life Membership in recognition of their distinguished service and dedication to the advancement trotting in the state.

There were many other highlights that entertained the 135 guests in attendance with the Master of Ceremonies, the voice of racing, John Tapp setting the tone for the evening.

Special guests were trotting icons Chris and Graeme Lang who flew from Victoria to take part in the “On The Couch” interview with ‘Tappy’ with the father and son sharing stories of their training exploits and their thoughts of the future for totting in Australia. This proved to be a very popular, well received and a much talked about segment.

At the conclusion of the Awards ceremonies the guests danced the night away to the live music from the rock and roll band Midlife Crisis, led by David Tapp.

Other Awards:

The Allied Express TANSW Two-Year-Old Trotter of the Year 2016/17 was won by the elegant Queen of Clevedon, a brown Filly by Rock N Roll Heaven (USA) from Clevedon Betty owned, bred and raced by the well-known father and daughter partnership of Danny and Christie Rothwell.

Queen of Clevedon was the winner of the HRNSW Trot and Heat 3 of the NSW Trotters Foundation Series.

The NSWSOA TANSW Three-Year-Old Trotter of the Year 2016/17 was won by the talented Empire Bay, a bay gelding by The Pres (CA) from Miss Adelade (NZ) owned and raced by well-known Trotting aficionado Michael Taylor.

Empire Bay was the winner of the HRNSW Trotters Foundation Series and the HRNSW Trot.

Empire Bay is trained and driven by the talented horseman Blake Fitzpatrick.

The HorsePower TANSW Open Class Trotter of the Year 2016/17 was won by the flamboyant Quillabamba, a bay gelding by Yankee Paco (USA) from Urabamba owned, bred and raced by trotting enthusiast Kevin Hipkins.

Quillabamba was the winner of The Trotters Marathon and The Trot It Out Saturday just to name a few.

Quillabamba is trained and driven by Blake Fitzpatrick.

The Fitzpatrick Family Racing Stables TANSW Trotting Mare of the Year 2016/17 was won by the stylish Rompers Monarchy, a bay mare by Monarchy (USA) from Amandas Gem (NZ) owned and raced by the adept husband and wife training partnership of Joe and Mary Rando.

Rompers Monarchy won six races last season and was the second-fastest trotter winning in 1:54.9.

Rompers Monarchy is trained by Joe and Mary Rando.

The Global Bloodstock TANSW Trotting Driver of the Year 2016/17 was won by talented reinsman Blake Fitzpatrick from the gifted young duo of Chris Geary and David Morris.

The Agnes Banks Equine Veterinary Centre TANSW Trotting Trainer of the Year 2016/17 was a strongly contested category won by Blake Fitzpatrick from the dynamic training duo Joe and Mary Rando closely followed by the “first lady” of harness racing KerryAnn Turner.

The Trotters Association of NSW Awards Night would not have been able to “Trot It Out” without the generous support and sponsorship from Agnes Banks Equine Veterinary Centre, Allied Express, Daniel Cordina, Global Bloodstock, Garrards Horse and Hound, Horseland Richmond, HorsePower, Harness Racing New South Wales, Mitavite, and Zilco.

New South Wales

Comment (...) Tweet Share Email Print

Read More News About...

Stallion Name

Next article: