Day At The Track

Up and Quick wins Gr. II Prix Louis Jariel

05:19 PM 08 Jun 2013 NZST
Comment (...) Tweet Share Email Print
Jerry Riordan Alberta Up and Quick
Jerry Riordan
Alberta - Dominik Locqueneux driving for trainer Ake Kristoffersson
Paris-Turf photo
Up and Quick - Wins the Gr. II Prix Louis Jariel
Paris-Turf photo

Ecurie Quick Star's bred and owned Up and Quick (5m Buvetier d'Aunou-Fichtre-Quiton du Coral) handily won today's Gr. II Prix Louis Jariel for 120,000 euro at Paris-Vincennes.

Trained by Franck Leblanc and reined by Franck Nivard, the 4/1 winner covered the 2175 meter (1-3/8 mile) distance in 1.11.8kr to defeat Uhlan du Val (5m Islero de Bellouet-Indiana Beautiful-Beautiful Somolli) and heavily backed Univers de Pan (5m Kenja du Pont-Gypsilore-Pans de la Vaudere).

The card also included the Gr. III Prix d’Istres (60,000 euro, 2700 meters) for three year-old fillies and produced an upset winner in 7/1 Alberta (3f Nech Jiel-Nouvelle d’Atout-Buvetier d’Aunou) with Dominik Locqueneux driving for trainer Ake Kristoffersson and owner Ms. Ottavia Roffi-Urano.

The winner scored in 1.15.4kr to defeat 45/1 Agneska (3f Quaker Jet-Pocahontas-Defi d’Aunou) with Gregory Simon up for Ecurie Victoria Dreams and 14/1 Anaya du Boulay (3f Power Jet-Nayala de I’Isop-Vikings Way). The Dubois family started five of the 12 contestants.

It was announced this week that Quaker Jet (9m Love You-Jenny Jet-Dahir de Prelong), a winner of over US$2.2 million and second in the Prix d’Amerique at age six, has been retired. Early offspring of the veteran campaigner have raced successfully.

Other European winners of interest this week include:

  • Ginala (7f Rite On Line-Ina Spender-Big Spender) winning at Ostersund in the Damlopp for female drivers in 1.12.1kr (1609 meters autostart for 150,000SEK first money). Helena Johansson drive the winner as she defeated Ariel Boko with Kajsa Frick aboard with Nina Rude and Caroline Akerlund third;

  • Also at Ostersund, Vasterbo Loveboat (3m Love You-Vasterbo Highclass-Pine Chip) won a 214o meters autostart event in 1.14.8kr for Erik Adielsson to take home 50,000SEK, his second straight 2013 win and now winner seven times in eight lifetime starts; Mellby Apollo (4g From Above-Mellby Rubin-Pine Chip) won the 40,000SEK first money Norrlands Grand Prix in 1.14.2kr over 2140 meters autostart for trainer/driver Per Lennartsson;

  • At Romme the promising Stefan Laday (5g Lindy Lane-Armbro Privilege-Balanced Image) won his third in four 2013 starts for Oskar Andersson, scoring in 1.13.3kr over 1640 meters autostart. The winner now has eight victories in 17 lifetime starts. The first money in this Misty Trotting race was 20,000SEK;

  • On June 6 at Aby, the Guida Italia Srl upcoming star Raise Wise As (3m Donato Hanover-Garden Variety-Tagliabue) won for the second time in 2013 in three starts for trainer Jerry Riordan and driver Kenneth Haugstad. The expensive yearling sale purchase in Italy was second in the other outing.

aise Wise As earned 40,000SEK first money by scoring easily in 1.14.8kr over 2140 meters autostart. Haugstad moved the winner to the front with a decisive move at the halfway point and then eased away in the stretch for an open-length win;

  • Also at Aby O’Grady (7m SJs Photo-Dawn Garbo-Smasher), with trainer/driver Flemming Jensen up, defeated a good field in 1.12kr over 1640 meters autostart. First prize was 100,000SEK. I Won’t Dance and Global Investment took the 2-3 spots with other US exports Howthehaloareyou and Solvato finishing fifth and sixth; Raising Rhonda (5f SJs Caviar-Raising the Bar-Angus Hall) also won at Aby for Kenneth Haugstad, scoring in 1.15.1kr over 2640 meters autostart to earn 40,000SEK;

  • On June 5 at Bollnas the veteran Marshland (8m From Above-Trapped-Bonefish) defeated a fast-class field for Erik Adielsson, scoring in 1.12.1kr over 1640 meters autostart to earn 60,000SEWK. Caballion was second with Excallibur third;

omorrow the International Drivers Challenge gets underway at Reims with five races for the 12 talented reinsmen:

Mika Forss (Finland)

Antonio Frontera Pocovi (Spain)

Gerhard Mayr (Austria)

Rene Kjær (Denmark)

Pierre Vercruysse (France)

Neil Day (Australia)

Erik Hoitomt (Norway)

Björn Goop (Sweden)

Jason Bartlett (U.S.A.)

Enrico Bellei (Italy)

Trevor Henry (Canada)

David Butcher (New Zealand)

The prestigious Broline Copenhagen Cup is also on tap with a good field of international competitors, headed by sentimental choice Commander Crowe, winner of over 3,100,000 euro and driven by Orjan Kihlstrom who replaces the injured Matthieu Abrivard:

Broline Copenhagen Cup

2011 meters, auto start, first money est. 882,000SEK

Horse - Driver (Trainer)

1. Joke Face - Lutfi Kolgjini

2. Classic Grand Cru - Steen Juul

3. Oracle - Erik Adielsson (Stefan Melander)

4. Commander Crowe - Örjan Kihlström (Fabrice Souloy)

5. Edward Ale - Peter Ingves (Petri Puro)

6. Orsia - Alessandro Gocciadoro

7. Quinoa du Gers - Jean-Michel Bazire (Fabrice Souloy)

8. Obi Wan - Jörgen Sjunnesson (Flemming Jensen)

9. Mr Picolit - Åke Svanstedt

10. Noras Bean - Stefan Söderkvist (Ulf Stenströmer)

by Thomas H. HICKS

Comment (...) Tweet Share Email Print

Read More News About...

Stallion Name

Next article: