Day At The Track

Ut Viniere wins Grand Prix Charley Mills at Laval

04:18 AM 13 Mar 2014 NZDT
Comment (...) Tweet Share Email Print
Ut Viniere, harness racing
Ut Viniere and trainer/driver Mathieu Abrivard
Paris Turf Photo

Ut Viniere captured today's 45,000e Grand Prix Charley Mills (also named the Grand Prix du Conseil General de la Mayenne) at Laval, the Quinte+ race of the day with a 5.6 million euro jackpot.

The six year-old son of Jasmin de Flore scored in 1.14.8kr over 2875 meters (the winner traveled a distance that was plus 25 meters in this handicapped event). Mathieu Abrivard trains and drove the winner for owner Stanislas Seveno as he scored for the seventh time, now for career earnings of 282,230e.

The victory was another credit for 17 year-old stallion Jasmin de Flore, whose offspring had a fine winter meet at Vincennes. Jasmin de Flore won the Prix de Selection, Prix de Milan and Criterium des 5 Ans during his racing career.

March 12, 2014 Laval, Grand Prix du Conseil General de la Mayenne (Grand Prix Charley Mills), International,‚45,000e, 2850 meters distance handicap up to 2900 meters  1.14.8

1st Ut Viniere (6m Jasmin de Flore-Oasis Viniere-Ouarsenis), trainer/driver Mathieu Abrivard up, 3.1/1, 2875 meters

2nd Rezeen Cayennais (9g Flash de Cosse-Juron-Karier Mabon), Franck Nivard driving, 9/1 odds, 2875 meters

3rd Une de Bertrange (6f Fortuna Font-Nottaway de Nath-Vikings Way), J-M Bazire up, 2.2/1, 2875 meters

Race replay is attached.

Today's race, an annual affair, celebrated the career of Charley Mills, a German of Irish descent that was a legendary European horseman during a career that spanned 60 years. Mills won 4,364 races as driver, trainer and breeder and had great influence on Germany's harness racing development before World War II. His two most famous horses were the US bred Walter Dear and the French champion Gelinotte. Mills' won Europe's most prestigious races, including the 1934 Prix d'Amerique, as shown below:


Deutsches Traber-Derby - Raute (1910), Zora (1925), Lebenskünstler (1926), Plutarch (1934), Probst (1935), Fried (1937), Leo (1938), Dachs (1939), Missouri (1942)


Österreichisches Traber-Derby - Baka (1919), Plunger Jr (1920), Vickerl (1927)

Graf Kalman Hunyady-Gedenkrennen - Tizian (1929), Walter Dear (1931), Rama (1937), Gelinotte (1957)


Prix d'Amérique - Walter Dear (1934)

Critérium des 3 ans - Ã'lope (1951), Luth Grandchamp (1958)

Critérium des 4 ans - Bleinheim (1949), Chambon (1950), Élope (1952), Gelinotte (1954), Kimono Royal (1958)

Critérium des 5 ans - Volcano (1948), Agramant (1949), Enfant des Houlles (1953), Jamin (1958)


Gran Premio Lotteria - Gelinotte (1956)


Elitloppet - Gelinotte (1956, 1957)

Ã…by Stora Pris - Gelinotte (1956, 1957)


Copenhagen Cup - Guy Bacon (1928), Walter Dear (1931, 1932), Gelinotte (1957)[7]

by Thomas H. Hicks, for



Comment (...) Tweet Share Email Print

Read More News About...

Stallion Name

Next article: