Day At The Track

Post Time announces 2019 award winners

06:28 AM 17 Jan 2020 NZDT
Comment (...) Tweet Share Email Print
Nancy Takter, harness racing Roger Huston, harness racing Wendy Ross, harness racing Forbidden Trade, harness racing
Nancy Takter
Mark Hall/USTA photo
Roger Huston
Wendy Ross
USTA photo
Forbidden Trade and driver Bob McClure winning the Hambletonian
Mark Hall/USTA photo
1 - 3 of 4

Elkton, MD - Post Time with Mike and Mike presented by the USTA/Bet America would like to congratulate their 2019 harness racing award winners. The winners were announced on the Thursday (Jan. 16) program, which can be heard on the archive by visiting

Ted Barcus Race Fan of the Year

Winner: Albert Nash (41.57%)

Runner-Up: Colton Hay (24.05%)

Nash won the inaugural Post Time with Mike and Mike Race Fan of the Year in 2015 and again in 2018. He is the first three-time winner of the award, spending his time congratulating participants victories via Facebook. Nash also carries a positive attitude and helps promote the sport of Harness Racing.

Sam McKee Race Call of the Year

Winner: Roger Huston - 2019 Little Brown Jug (32.15%)

Runner-Up: Ken Warkentin - 2019 Sam McKee Memorial (17.68%)

Huston, who retired from The Meadows Racetrack and Casino in 2019, found a special bond with Little Brown Jug champion, Southwind Ozzi. Southwind Ozzi went undefeated with Huston calling his races, this was the second victory for Huston in the category.

Horsewoman of the Year, presented by Southern Oaks Training Center

Winner: Nancy Takter (31.42%)

Runner-Up: Ashley Holliday (16.19%)

Takter took over some of the training duties of her father, Hall of Fame trainer Jimmy Takter in 2019. She sent out the most winners she has ever had in 2019, getting to the winners circle 72 times in 338 starts. She campaigned world-champion Captain Crunch to a powerful victory in the Pepsi North America Cup at Woodbine Mohawk Park in June, led Manchego to a world-record setting performance at Hollywood Gaming at Dayton Raceway, then capped off her season with a powerful Breeders Crown performance by Manchego.

Larry Rheinheimer Small Stable of the Year, presented by Harrah's Hoosier Park

Winner: Galliers Racing (31.76%)

Runner-Up: Altmeyer Wilder Racing Stable (19.65%)

Galliers Racing Stable was started by young up and coming star Brady Galliers. Galliers was not born into racing like many horsemen, he has worked hard to become of the top stables in Ohio. He recent finished sixth in the training standings at Scioto Downs and has a strong social media presence promoting the sport of Harness Racing.

Innovator of the Year, presented by the United States Trotting Association

Winner: Wendy Ross (27.59%)

Runner-Up: Rod Allums Jr. (25.89%)

Ross began working for the USTA in May 2018, helping to spearhead some of harness racing's mainstream media. She helped to produce and put together the first harness racing Lip Sync battle and also helped put on a Harness Racing Carpool Karaoke. In 2018, she worked with Mark Weaver and Ron Burke to coordinate the Harness Racing FanZone Foiled Again Farewell tour.

Upset of the Year, presented by Winners Circle Racing Stable

Winner: Forbidden Trade winning the Hambletonian over Greenshoe (30.69%)

Runner-Up: Caviart Ally defeating Shartin N in Lexington and the Breeders Crown (27.82%)

Who could forget the dominant trio that trainer Marcus Melander had with Greenshoe, Gimpanzee, and Green Manalishi S produced in 2019, but it was Forbidden Trade who came out on top with a powerful victory in the Hambletonian Final. The win gave trainer Luc Blais and United States Harness Writers Association Rising Star Bob McClure their first victory in the $1 million event.

Foiled Again Iron Horse of the Year

Winner: T Red (31.57%)

Runner-Up: Electric Lad (26.18%)

T Red started his career at age two, with six victories in 19 starts making just over $7,000 in 2008. He is currently owned by trainer Henry Gulley and has hit the board in 18 of 42 starts in 2019 while winning seven races and making $25,427. T Red has raced all through Ohio, Michigan, and Indiana with just under $480,000 in career earnings. He set a lifetime mark of 1:51.1 at age five at Indiana Downs. His highest career earnings came in 2011 where he earned $63,300.

Post Time with Mike and Mike thanks their listeners for taking time to nominate the contenders and for voting throughout the last few weeks.

Post Time with Mike and Mike presented by BetAmerica can be heard live every Thursday at 10:30 a.m. via their website or on the archive at

by Michael Carter, for Post Time


Comment (...) Tweet Share Email Print

Read More News About...

Stallion Name

Next article in USA: