Day At The Track

Field set for the last national stakes event

10:19 PM 07 Dec 2011 NZDT
Comment (...) Tweet Share Email Print
Westwardho Hanover
Westwardho Hanover

The $162,200 Jay Auto Group Cleveland Classic, one of Northfield Park's premier races, is scheduled for Saturday night, December 10. This is the last national stakes harness racing event of the year for three-year-old pacers. The Cleveland Classic always draws an impressive slate of equine athletes as well as North America's top drivers, and this year is no exception.

Westwardho Hanover, whose owners are paying a $15,000 supplemental fee to enter, is the even-money morning-line favorite and starts from post five. He is owned by the Westward Ho Stable and has a career bankroll of $501,248 and a lifetime mark of 1:49.1. In his most recent start, Westwardho Hanover was second in the $221,465 Matron at Dover Downs.

This son of Dragon Again entered the Matron off of a win in the $330,000 Progress Pace, also at Dover. Dave Palone is his regular driver and trainer Ronald Burke has again called on Palone to steer him. Palone will be looking for his fifth Classic victory. He is currently tied with John Campbell and Walter Case Jr, who each have won this race four times.

Mystic Desire, the 4-1 morning-line second choice, has drawn post nine. Mystic Desire, a son of Real Desire, has lifetime earnings of $607,924 with a career mark of 1:50. The Ross Croghan trainee just finished second in the $175,000 Windy City at Maywood Park. He has twelve lifetime wins for the partnership of Let It Ride Stables, Robert Cooper Stables, Jerry Silva and Dana Parham.

The $162,200 Jay Auto Group Cleveland Classic

Post Horse Trainer Driver M/L
1 Southwind Milo Ronald Burke Ryan Stahl 5-1
2 Best Man Hanover Perry Smith Dan Noble* 10-1
3 Mach Of Ballykeel Richard Moreau TBA 20-1
4 Upfront Ellijay Ed James Arledge Dan Noble* 25-1
5 Westwardho Hanover Ronald Burke David Palone 1-1
6 Camgrandest Patrick Curtain Eric Carlson 12-1
7 Something For Doc Brian Brown Tony Hall 6-1
8 Audry’s Dream Benjamin Wallace Jody Jamieson 8-1
9 Mystic Desire Ross Croghan Peter Wrenn 4-1
10 Onhishonor Hanover Perry Smith Dan Noble* 15-1

Requested by owner/trainer interests to drive. Noble will decide which horse to drive by 9:00 am Thursday, December 8.

by Brent REITZ

One More Laugh winning the 2010 Cleveland Classic at Balmoral Park:

Comment (...) Tweet Share Email Print

Read More News About...

Stallion Name

Next article: