Day At The Track

Svanosio, Lee and Shipway honoured

06:55 AM 04 Apr 2021 NZST
Comment (...) Tweet Share Email Print
Chris Svanosio and Peregrine Phoenix, Harness racing
Chris Svanosio and Peregrine Phoenix
Stuart McCormick Photo

Chris Svanosio, Paddy Lee and Brett Shipway were lauded tonight when the Victorian Square Trotting Association celebrated those who shined in squaregaiting in 2020.

Held at Tabcorp Park Melton tonight as part of a great night’s harness racing, the awards respectively honoured excellence, rising talent and determination, and carried the names of greats of the sport.

Svanosio won the Bob Conroy Excellence in Trotting Award, which recognises someone who provides a great example.

The 10 nominees also included Anton Golino, Paul Campbell, Fred Spiteri, Pat Driscoll, Andy Gath, Juanita Breen, Clare Payne, Les Chapman and Glenn Conroy, but it was Svanosio who proved the pick of the bunch.

Paddy Lee was a fitting winner of the Rising Star in Trotting Award, which is fittingly named in honour of his grand uncle, Dick Lee.

Paddy was nominated along with Declan Magri, Tayla French, Jayden Brewin, Jason Ainsworth and Luke Humphreys.

The Colin Redwood Determination in Trotting Award was also presented, with Brett Shipway awarded the gong that lauds the person who demonstrates perseverance, determination and passion.

Shipway was selected from fellow nominees Fred Spiteri, Jack Sullivan, Graeme Whittle, Katrina Knight, Katrina Fitzpatrick, Carmel Balot, Bob Kuchenmeister, Lyndal Conroy, Kate Hargreaves and Jackie Barker.


Harness Racing Victoria

Comment (...) Tweet Share Email Print

Read More News About...

Stallion Name

Next article: